top of page
  • joellecornett

Recipe: White Macaroni

Even though it's not quite feeling like fall here in Southern California, I'm still faking it by pulling out my sweaters, tights, and favorite comfort food recipes. This mac and cheese is one of my all-time favorite recipes and has been passed down from my grandmother, to my mother, to me. It's packed with protein and and delivers a crunch that just doesn't quit.

My mouth is already watering!

White Macaroni

Prep Time: 20 mins Cook Time: 2 hours

Mmmm

Ingredients

-1 package (16 oz) large shell pasta (I love Anthony's)

-1/2 cup Butter

-1 package (24 oz) cottage cheese (I've used lowfat, full fat, added calcium... it's all delicious)

-Salt to taste

-1 cup milk (lowfat, reduced fat, full fat... it's all great!)

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 9x13 Casserole dish with cooking spray to prevent sticking.

2) Cook the shells per package instructions, but in case you've never made pasta before: heat salted water in a large pot until boiling, add your pasta, cook for 10-12 minutes, then drain.

3) Melt the 1/2 cup butter and combine butter and cottage cheese in a large bowl. Sprinkle with salt, to taste.

4) Add the cooked pasta to the large bowl, and mix well. Really use those arm muscles!

5) Spread the macaroni mixture into your casserole dish until the mixture is even. Pour milk over the mixture (it should coat the bottom of the pan).

6) Cook in the oven for 2 hours, or until crispy. Be patient.

Enjoy! Leftovers can be kept in the fridge and heated up in the microwave for up to four days (if you can last that long).

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Recipe: Chicken and Broccoli Stir Fry

This is another recipe that I love to make during the week because it's fast, easy, and relatively healthy (especially with a few modifications). You can also swap out the chicken for your favorite me

bottom of page