top of page
  • joellecornett

Time Management When You Have No Time

Once a month, I meet with a group of talented and inspiring creative women and we each discuss our creative process and give each other advice on how to maximize our creative juices. At our first gathering, I shared my "daily schedule," and was grateful no one thought I was insane.

This month, my friend asked how I manage to keep up with my schedule when there's unpredictability in the day. My answer: I don't. The idea of having a timed out daily schedule is wonderful, when you have control of your time. But, day jobs don't often allow for that. Even at my current job, which is wonderful, I don't even know which side of town I'll be working on until the day before. That definitely makes it tougher to plan. So, what does a control freak do? Learn to let go a little, and settle for a broader schedule.

-Check email as soon as I get into the office (unless I have a meeting or assignment I need to take care of right away)

-Take care of admin stuff in the morning

-Write whenever I know I'll have more than an hour to work on something

-Catch up on reading in the afternoon

The bottom line: You just do what you can and whatever you can't get done, there's always tomorrow!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What's Been Going On

In late September, my husband and I discovered we were pregnant. We were overjoyed. We’d been trying to get pregnant and we wanted this baby. I couldn’t wait to share this joy with the rest of the wor

bottom of page