top of page
  • joellecornett

Friday Favorites: Kimye vs. Taylor, Captivating T.V., and Hamilton (still)

Each Friday I'll post a collection of my favorite things this week. For the inaugural edition, here's what I LOVED this week:

Kimye Vs. Taylor

It was the feud heard 'round the internet and provided a much needed levity to the shit show the world has been lately. Admittedly, I've always been more of a Kim K. gal than a Taylor fan, but you have to admit: this was a dish best served cold. I'm sure this will all turn out to be a publicity stunt, which makes it even more fun in a way. Also, my favorite tweet (possibly of all time) came out of this (which is also linked to another favorite this week)

Television Shows: The Night Of, UnREAL, & Stranger Things

Summer television is just like the current weather: HOT HOT HOT.

I was a little dubious when I first saw "The Night Of" trailers, but if Riz Ahmed and John Turturro's performances don't blow you away, we can't be friends. Also, it plays out like an episode of Serial, with every episode begging the question: "who the f did killed her?"

UnREAL's season has been the sexiest yet (I am loving Coleman, thankyouverymuch) and the return of Adam this week was a welcome surprise. Although this week's episode was a really sensitive subject and I wished they would've dealt with it a little more sensitively (could we at least get a hint at how Romeo is doing? He's the victim!), I did appreciate that the usual trend of women disrobing was replaced with shirtless men and fully clothes ladies. Thank you Sarah Gertrude Shapiro, and co.

I first heard about Stranger Things when my friend got hired to write for the show and it was called "Montauk." The minute he said it was Goonies meets Twin Peaks with Winona Ryder, I was in. It's very rare a show manages to exceed my expectations, but that's exactly what Stranger Things has done. It's that perfect combination of delightful, suspenseful, magical, and slightly creepy, plus the nostalgia factor is A+. Can't wait to finish watching this wonderful show.

Hamilton

I just can't get enough! Between the soundtrack, reading the biography that inspired the show, and the announcement of Lin-Manuel's drunk history episode, this continues to be the summer of Hamilton for me. Although, I do not recommend reading the bio and listening to the musical at the same time. There's a few conflicts and it's easy to get lost in the narrative.

What have been some of the highlights of your week?

2 views0 comments
bottom of page