top of page
  • Joelle Cornett

Why I’m Proud to Vote for Hillary

Original Post on Medium:

Yesterday, the U.S. made history by nominating its’ first female President in a major political party. As I watched the roll call and following speeches, concluding with Hillary “smashing” through a glass ceiling of the former male President’s (including her own husband!), I couldn’t help but feel a sense of pride. “Our time” as women has finally come, and I can’t think of anyone better to represent our country’s best interests, or us women.

Mrs. Clinton has been plagued with a career shrouded in controversy, however, I remember first watching her as the potential First Lady when President Clinton ran for President in the 90’s. As a seven-year-old, I was fascinated by this woman who seemed equally warm and powerful with her big smile and even bigger headbands (do you guys remember those — they were massive!) Even then, she had a curated mix of grace, goofiness, and adeptness. Unfortunately, as Bill’s term commenced she was painted as someone who opted away from the traditional “First Lady” decorum, and then later as someone who had been a victim to adultery. People forgot about the sweet, capable woman who proudly stood by her husband’s side, but she did so without ever fully relinquishing the spotlight to him. And that last part is exactly why I’m proud to support Mrs. Clinton.

As women, we’re often taught to dim our own light. If we boast about our merits, we’re abrasive or bitchy — the same words that have often been applied to describe Hillary. But, how is that fair? Why must we dull our own shine to make others (men) look good around us? I think as a child of the 90’s, Hillary was the first woman role model that taught me it was okay to outshine your spouse. Just because you’re a woman, it doesn’t mean you have to be relegated to the sidelines. And that is a very powerful lesson for a young woman.

Sure, Hillary has her faults, and I’m sure in the next few months we will hear about plenty of them, but the truth is there is no candidate more qualified to hold the office of President. That’s a fact. But, that’s not the only reason I am casting my vote for her in November. To me, she has redefined what it means to be a working wife, mother, and everything in between. And hopefully her same qualities that inspired me as a kid will inspire the next generation of women when she’s elected our next President.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

This Election Should’ve Come with a Trigger Warning

Originally published on medium. Like many, I watched the final debate between Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump last night, and felt anger rise within me. But, I also hoped I would feel something else:

Whole 30 Round Two

Originally published on Medium Last February, encouraged by my friend’s Whole 30 success, I decided to go on my own Whole 30 journey. I have never struggled with my weight (although I did gain nearly

bottom of page